The Lost World: Jurassic Park (1997)

Watched as part of my walk down the Blockbusters-lane; Back to the Bang for the Buck

If it wasn’t for Julianne Moore, I suspect I might have considered giving this one half a star, and I’d like to note that there are several things about her character that annoys that crap out of me as well. Still. At least it’s a kind-of-interesting character and it’s interesting to watch the Julianne of those days. I’m well aware of The Big Lebowski, Safe, Boogie Nights, and Magnolia in addition to this one all coming out of the second half of the 90s for her, but it’s still her later works that somehow has defined her in my memory…

JP The Lost World

Anyways. The Lost World sucks. It’s trite with the typical sequelitis symptoms, and the entire movie feels like a complete waste that never earns its place. The premise is ridiculous in every way, and the freshly injected kid is such a stupid idea they should have eaten her during the table-readings.

Even the tiny dinos, which probably are the only new thing here, feels like something they stole from the popular 80s-franchises and spent in much the same way.

JP The Lost World4

I hated this movie. Hated it, hated it, hated it. The only other redeeming quality it had, beyond Julianne, was to play spot-the…. With the likes of Vince Vaughn, Pete Postlethwaite, Peter Stormare, Richard Schiff, and even to a certain degree Camilla Belle offers some ‘ha, him/her!’ moments, and could at least be the foundation of some silly drinking game to help you through the screening. Funnily enough, I also recalled Thomas F. Duffy, but that was just because I watched Independence Day yesterday…

I’m honestly not sure whether or not I’ve seen this before. I might just have seen clips from it, or I might just have repressed ever watching it… I’m at least more than willing to believe the latter is true after this viewing. If I’ve seen it before, it was so long ago I can live with not checking this as a revisit.

JP The Lost World3

The preteen gymnastic kill is justifiable enough reason to hand this movie a half star rating, so know that I’ll support you should you decide to do so… With the original still at the top of the list, this sequel takes its well deserved place close to the bottom of my revisited blockbusters-rating…

  • Rating: 1/5
  • Rewatch-probability: 1/5

Leave a comment